Finalists announced for Offshore Safety Awards

Oil and Gas UK and Step Change in Safety have announced this year’s outstanding individuals and enterprising companies who make up the shortlist of finalists for the Offshore Safety Awards.

The awards – with Maersk Oil as principal sponsor – celebrate those who go beyond the call of duty to make the UK Continental Shelf one of the safest oil and gas basins to work in globally.

The finalists will attend an interactive event and awards ceremony at the Aberdeen Exhibition and Conference Centre (AECC) on Wednesday 23 August where they will pitch their safety initiative directly to attendees, who get the chance to cast their vote.

Les Linklater, Executive Director with Step Change in Safety, said: “The beauty of this event is that it presents a great opportunity to showcase impressive examples of innovative work practices and new ideas in action. As such it presents a learning and sharing opportunity which we feel offers real value for the industry.

“This year’s finalists were able to demonstrate their commitment to enhancing safety standards both onshore and offshore and I look forward to hearing their pitches at the event later this summer.”

Mick Borwell, Health, Safety and Environment Policy Director with Oil & Gas UK, added: “We received some really strong entries and the judges had a tough job whittling it down to our finalists. We are looking forwarding to an informative and engaging event about the steps being taken to make the UK offshore industry as safe as it can be.”


Safety Rep
James MacInnes – Taqa
Jon Aston – Amec Foster Wheeler
Tommy Timms – Nexen

Safety Leadership
Stephen Diplock – Petrofac
Dianna Houston – Maersk Oil
Kevin Mitchell – ConocoPhillips

Workforce Engagement
Team DSV Bibby
Bilfinger’s CNRI Team
Buzzard Turnaround

Innovation in Safety
Bird Control

Sharing & Learning
Barry Milne and Arron Baxtor – Shell
BP North Sea Aviation Team
ScanTech Offshore

Operational Integrity
David Jamieson and Jamie Jack – Shell
Buchan Alpha Asset Management and Crew – Repsol Sinopec
Bob Taylor and the Asset Integrity DROPS Team – Centrica

The post Finalists announced for Offshore Safety Awards appeared first on Energy Voice.

Read full original article »